The History of Yew Tree Farm …
In recent history the Haimes family came to Yew Tree Farm amongst the melting snows of the bitter winter of 1947.
The buildings around the farmyard then housed all the various animals from pigs, rabbits,calves, horses and the milking parlour to milk the herd of jersey cows.
The brick and tile construction of the traditional farmyard was built in a square to keep the wind from the animals in the buildings, the manure heap would have been in the middle of the farmyard.
As the years passed by farming methods changed and the animals tended to be kept in bigger barns and the brick and tile buildings around the farmyard became somewhat redundant.
The passing of an era …
In 1989 we opened The Farm shop and then over a period of several years we set about renovating the rest of the farmyard using our own oak from the woodland on the farm.
The buildings have been tastefully converted retaining many of the original features, and all the units are named after what the original use would have been like The Old Dairy, The Pig Sties and The Milking Parlour.
Today Yew Tree Farm is still very much a working farm but moved to being mainly an arable farm. On the farm we grow mainly Wheat, Barley and Oil Seed Rape.
The buildings that over the years used to be home to the animals are now home to independent craft and retail units offering a wide range of unique products from around the world.
We look forward to welcoming you to our courtyard shopping village in our lovely farmyard.